A Step Ahead Scholarship Program

The Step Ahead Scholarship program is dedicated to recognizing and providing financial support for promising young women from the greater Memphis community who are committed to public service in the areas of academic success and effective, responsible life planning.  

Since its inception in 2014, $1,200,000 has been awarded to outstanding young women in the Memphis community. Multiple scholarships of $2,000 will be awarded this year. Awards are based on strength of application and estimated financial need. Each award is a one-time, annual scholarship—but recipients are encouraged to maintain good academic status and apply a second year if needed. Scholarship awards are limited to two years total.  

“The scholarships are part of the mission at A Step Ahead, which seeks to remove barriers for women so they can focus on getting an education and become more successful in life. Such barriers include the debt that comes with going to college and becoming mothers before being able to graduate and start a working career. We want to empower all women to achieve their hopes and dreams.”  - Nikki Gibbs, Executive Director, A Step Ahead 

2021-2022 Scholarship Application Process is Open

Bank Tennessee is pleased to announce that the application process for the 2021-2022 Step Ahead Scholarship is now open. The Step Ahead Scholarship program is a collaborative effort of A Step Ahead Foundation and Girls Inc. of Memphis to support their commitment to encouraging the educational advancement and leadership development of young women in the greater Memphis community.

Thank you to Snow & Henry Morgan and the Boyle family for their extremely generous contribution to this year's scholarship fund.





Congratulations to our 2020-2021 Scholarship Recipients!

Nicarra Bailey

Stephanie Bobo

Jada Bowie

Raven Boyce

Madison Burton

Danielle Cannon

Kirsten Carter

Erica Cathey

Autumn Conway

Christina Elliott

Jamaya Fleming

April Gaithright

Kyler Hall

Takymlya Harris

Kayla Hawkins

Jameka Hayes

Keleigh Henry

Sally Hoff

Amanda Ibrahim

Sierra Jackson

Jada Jenkins

Tatiana Johnson

Selena Jones

Sophia Kchouk

Thao La

Constance Lewis Jones

Nicole Li

Errica Little

Asha Love

Maggie Makris

Nicara McKenzie

Chloe McNeil

Maya Morris

Mya Morrow

Qimmah Muhammad

Lidia Olvera

Christa Palms

Tomeka Patterson

Gerita Perry

Tianna Powell

Adrienne Rodriguez

GareAna Rosebud

MiKayla Shaffer

Victoria Taylor

Haley Thomas

Alexis Tidwell

Lataysha Walker

Taylor Washington

Jonisha Winston

Trinity Worthy

"You are a strong woman with a strong mind. You have the power to take control of your life and your choices. Think about what you want and what you need, to be healthy and happy."

Donate Today!